This article demonstrates how to delete guest data and explains how ROLLER obfuscates all personally identifiable data to enable venues to manage compliance with privacy legislation such as GDPR and CCPA.
About privacy requirements
Regulations such as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) provide privacy protections that include giving individuals the right, in certain circumstances, to ask that their personal data be deleted, or that a business restrict the processing of their personal data.
"Personal data" includes any data that can be used to identify an individual, such as Name, Address or Email address. Personal data does not include information that is purely financial and cannot be linked to an individual, such as how much a guest has spent or how many times they attended the venue.
Before you begin
If you receive a request to delete a guest's data, be sure to check if your guest has any of the following that will need attention before the deletion:
- Scheduled membership payments
- Active membership
- Unpaid bookings
- Upcoming bookings already scheduled
- Waivers that may need to be downloaded for your records.
Deleting guest data
To delete the data of a guest:
- From your Dashboard in ROLLER Venue Manager, click Guests > All Guests.
- Click the name of the guest whose data you want to delete.
- Click the 3 dots on the top right corner of the screen.
- Select Delete guest.
ROLLER will process the request to delete guest data and notify you via your email - view Add a privacy notification email to configure this email address.
How guest data is deleted
When a guest record is deleted ROLLER will obfuscate the guest data by randomising or deleting all personally identifiable data including if recorded:
- First and last name are obfuscated
- Email is obfuscated
- Address is deleted
- Phone number is deleted
- Date of birth is deleted.
A deletion action will be reflected in the Guest record, memberships, booking ticket holder, activity stream, waivers and forms. Once a guest's information has been obfuscated, their personal information will no longer be visible, and in the place of a guest's name, you will see the name “Deleted User” on all reports where the client is being referenced.